Teenage Nostalgia

Standard
At 'that' house circa 2002

At ‘that’ house circa 2002

It was quite the interesting Saturday morning at the Princess house. The mascot for our local MLB team, Fredbird was visiting one of the farmer’s markets in our area so we decided to pack up the girls and head out for a visit. We had a few other things we hoped to find at the market so it seemed like a multi productive option for the beginning of our weekend. The trip itself was enjoyable and successful but it was the overall experience that got me thinking.

This particular market is located in an old town area of the suburb I spent much of teenage years in. It’s just 4-5 miles from the house I grew up in but only mere blocks from my high school best friend’s house. The drive past my parents house to get to the farmer’s market is a drive I took almost daily for years to get to her house. Passing things like the checker board decorated water tower, the closed down gas station, the fire damaged pizza place, even the street the “love of my life” lived on all those years ago… it was all quite nostalgic.

A tornado recently passed through this area and many of the views I have in my mind were changed as we drove past because of damaged trees and landscaping. On our way home from the market we decided to turn down a side road to go past the house we hung out at for so many hours. Princess Daddy and I met working together and my high school best friend worked with us as well. We’d all easily spend 12-16 hours a day together because back then, sleep was underrated. Many of our first dates took place hanging out in that house with that best friend.

As we drove past and saw her mom’s expedition in the driveway, I so desperately wanted to stop. I wanted to walk right in the front door without knocking like I’d done so many times before, park in the grass on the side because the driveway was too full, grab a chair at the table and play a game of Rummikub or Skip-bo because that’s what I did for nearly a decade.

But we don’t do that anymore. We grew apart. I’m not sure what happened. That moment this morning though, driving past her house flooded my mind with so many amazing memories, so many that I had pushed out of my mind, clouded by only the fact that we don’t talk anymore.

Nostalgia is a powerful thing. It can be used for good when thinking about things like our kids growing up so quickly and remembering their sweet baby cheeks or it can be debilitating remember a time of your life so long gone. Just another reminder to never take life for granted.

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

9 responses »

  1. Did the two of you have a falling out? If it was just that you two grew apart maybe you can reach out to her and just tell her that you were thinking about her. Maybe she has been thinking of you too?

    • I actually have no idea what happened. I have reached out (and actually did again when I wrote this post this weekend with no reply). Her answers are always simply, “I know, I miss you too. I’m just SOO busy all the time.” And while I understand being busy, how much energy does it take to reply to a text once a month or something. I don’t know. I almost wish she would just say, “_____ is why I never want to talk to you again.” just so I had some kind of closure, you know?

      • Awe that stinks. I agree that it would be nice to have some type of closure. Hopefully one day you will.

  2. Pingback: #ThrowbackThursday #Senior #Prom | Magical Chaos

  3. Pingback: 30 Things Topic #4: 10 Things for my 16 Year Old Self | Magical Chaos

  4. Pingback: The Seven Year Itch: Surviving Marriage in a Princess World | Magical Chaos

  5. Pingback: 30 Things: Topic #10: Most Embarrassing Moments | Our Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

