Day Zero Project: 7 Things in 2013

Standard

ResolutionsWaaaayyyyy back on January 1st, I nixed the idea of making a New Year’s Resolution and signed up for Day Zero Project’s 7 Things in 2013. I made a few updates early on in guest posts on the Mumbling Mommy blog but have since been rather quiet about it. No worries, I am not one of the 92% of people who make a resolution only to have failed in completing it when December 31st rolls around again.

I made 7 goals for the year. These goals were prompted by Day Zero Project but also very personal to me. Each came with the ultimate task of finding myself and feeling confident in my own maturity. My goals were:

1. To learn… how to cook. Many people take this skill for granted. I wrote a couple of weeks ago about my fear of getting burnt. For my entire teenage and adult life this stopped me from even trying cook. My husband cooked all our meals. Then one day when my babies were just a few weeks (maybe months?) old I made brownies. Not only did I make brownies but I made GOOD brownies. On my own. And I suddenly felt a sense of empowerment that I’ve never had before. So this year I have expanded that and basically, I take on just about anything. I’ve made lasagna, casseroles, tacos, sloppy joes, macaroni and cheese (like the made from scratch homemade kind), muffins, cookies, granola bars, etc. etc.

2. To start… putting money away for emergencies. I really hope to tackle this goal a little better soon. We ARE addressing this for sure. We’ve used a budget all year and have really been saving more than ever before. I’ve been trying to take on extra freelance work whenever I can as well since that income all goes to savings.

3. To stop… over eating. Tackled and won this battle. If you told me this time last year how healthy my family would be eating, I likely would have laughed at you as a scarfed down a Jack in the Box Ultimate Cheeseburger and seasoned curly fry. Developing adrenal health disease (and furthermore the “cure” for it) is the best thing that has ever happened to me. We eat well within normal portion sizes, only when we are hungry. No more heartburn or bloating or indigestion. I just feel great.

4. To take… a vacation to the beach. This goal was semi-cheating because I knew we were planning a vacation when I wrote my goals. BUT whatever, we took an absolutely fantastic family trip to Myrtle Beach. If I could write out all the perfect things to happen on vacation, this trip checked every single one off the list. I could not have asked for a better trip.

5. To find… something to do for ME. This is so hard for me because I tend to always put others first. I have started taking TIME for myself though which definitely helps. Running has become my obsession. Earlier this month I accomplished my first running goal: running a 5k. I used the couch to 5k program and put in 10 weeks of training to finish the race in 39:53. I won’t stop running though. I am now working on doubling that run and training for a 10k. Running is definitely for me. I don’t do it to lose weight. I don’t do it to burn calories. I do it because it makes me feel amazing.

6. To try… new dishes at new restaurants. Along side #3, this goes along with healthy eating. We really do not eat out very often at all anymore but when I do, I am conscious of ingredients and how they will taste together. I’m not afraid of peppers or onions or sauces or tomatoes… I’m like a whole new person.

7. To be… more accepting of help. Unfortunately, I have not gotten anywhere really with this. I do say “yes” more to opportunities but I think I may have shot myself in the foot. I declined help so many times that no one really offers anymore. I will say though that when I NEED help, I am better at asking for it instead of suffering in silence. That in itself has to count as progress.

I hope you’ve enjoyed. As we approach the halfway mark on this year I hope you will do everything to make 2013 worth it. YOLO.

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Using a Budget to Benefit Your Kids

  2. Pingback: Three Lessons Learned in a Year… With Just One Car | Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

