Who Wears Short Shorts?

Standard
Short Shorts Purple

What do you see? A mom and her kiddo? Or short shorts?

Moms wear short shorts!

No seriously. Do you think it’s okay for a mother to wear short shorts? Is it an age thing? Or just being a mom in general? Or is a weight/size thing? A size 4 mom can wear short shorts but a size 10 mom can’t? A 24-year-old mom can do it but a 35-year-old can’t? Or just anyone who is setting an example for a child in their own home can’t wear short shorts?

Furthermore, what exactly qualifies as short? I have several pairs of short shorts. They absolutely do not pass the finger tip test. They cover my bottom but yeah, that’s about it. It’s not that I am trying to walk around dressing skanky or anything. I have plenty of pairs of longer shorts and capri pants as well. I wear the shorter ones when it is appropriate: day long trips outside at the zoo, family reunions in the park, as swim suit cover ups by the pool and around the house for yard work or chores.

I don’t wear short shorts when I go Open House for my daughter’s school or on her field trips. I don’t wear them to the movies or museums. I certainly don’t wear them to church (not that I’ve been anytime recently.)

The funny thing though is that I can’t promise I’m comfortable with my girls wearing shorts this short. However, they are kids. And I think kids have to be just a bit more modest. Orange has a couple of pair of short shorts but she almost always wears them under a summer dress because she’s almost always in a dress and simply doesn’t get the protocol on not showing her panties to the world yet.

Short shorts, Long legs

Short shorts, Long legs

The twins though have quite a few pair of short shorts though. Many in fact that cause their cloth diapers to hang out the bottom of their shorts. It’s actually freaking adorable. So they are 1 year olds and Orange is a 4-year-old and I am a 28-year-old so where exactly is the right and wrong line?

I’ll keep wearing short shorts as long as my legs look nice enough too. My husband thinks I’m hot. The shorts keep me cool. I don’t feel distasteful or crude. And I know my place. So mom or not, I wear short shorts.

What about you? It’s summer time here, temps are pushing triple digits… Are you a short short wearer? Why or why not?

Leave me a comment below!

 

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

8 responses »

  1. HAHA This post made me laugh.. but it is a good point to bring up. I think you are most definitely fine wearing short shorts… they cover your bottom, so its not like you are prancing around the park chasing your kiddos as you bottom is hanging out haha!! Sorry I just got a visual of a mother that I witnessed doing JUST that and it was less than attractive haha!! And she was a small gal like you either. 😦 Ok so I guess that was mean but it wasnt intended to be…. moving on…. should little girls wear short shorts? I think the same thing applies…. if their little bottoms are not showing, then sure why not!! Carley is a lot like Orange (I had to see above post to clarify which color she was– Ill catch on soon lol.)– she is a dress girl… or skirts, but she is going to be 6 and still forgets the “dont show the panties to everyone.” rule. She’s getting better though… Carley does have a few “short” shorts though as well.

    • Lol! It’s totally fine to use her real name if you aren’t sure. It just helps people who don’t know us keep them organized.

      And that didn’t sound rude. I’ve definitely seen shorts shorter than mine and I just have to wonder. I mean I guess if you have it, flaunt it? Lol.

      • I wasnt sure haha!

        Im glad you didnt think I sounded rude… sometimes I make rude comments and not realize it… oops. But it just happens lol. I guess you are right… if you have it flaunt it, but only if you have it!!! haha!! Oh well.. to each their own… right?

  2. I agree that as long as your cheeks aren’t hanging out it’s all good 🙂 Whatever YOU are comfortable in. Me personally, I wear longer shorts because I have chubby unattractive thighs. I am working on them though and will wear shorter shorts when I feel comfortable in them. Kids I feel the same way, as long as they aren’t crawling up in places that they shouldn’t then let them be short. Heck it’s hot out there and no one wants clothes sticking to them 🙂

  3. Thankfully with a boy I don’t have to worry so much about things being too short. I suspect eventually though I’ll be fighting the pull your pants up – we don’t let our underwear hang out battle. I myself don’t wear short shorts – but I’m more of a skirt wearer and I don’t have the legs to pull them off. I don’t mind them on other people as long as they fit. My friend and I noticed at our local festival last weekend that many of the women our age were wearing short shorts out to the beer tent that didn’t fit and barely covered their underwear! (Not nearly as cute on a 30 year old as it is on a baby!) So I say go ahead and wear them as long as you are comfortable in them and they aren’t 3 sizes too small!! (There was stuff hanging out of the top and the bottom of these women’s short shorts!)

  4. This made me laugh too. My SIL came to visit wearing short shorts. Two women in my neighborhood actually snickered at her and said her shorts were way to short. How rude! She is 26 super gorgeous so who cares? Are they the fashion police. Me, I don’t even wear shorts because they are too revealing. Just cargos and Capris. I am always cold and I would freeze in shorts plus I just don’t feel they are appropriate for me. But you’ve got it so flaunt it!

  5. Wear them if you want! Last year right before summer (I’m in AUS so that was Nov) I got really healthy and was going to the gym 4+ times per week as well as eating really well. I got super toned up quite quickly and ditched the last of my baby weight so I celebrated by going out and getting a couple of pairs of short shorts. I’m 36 but people always say I look younger and I think I rocked them no problem. My ex said I looked hot and he is brutally honest. I will only ever wear them if I am as slim as I was then though. If my thighs are flabby then I won’t put anyone else through it!!! hehe

  6. Pingback: My Style is Called “Target Clearance” | Our Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

