#MondayMealRecap

Standard
20130708-195512.jpg

Featured Meal: Shake and Bake Chicken

I’ve been posting dinner tidbits for a while now on my private blog and it seems friends and family love them so much that I’ve decided to share some overviews with you.

As parents, creating kid friendly, easy to make and healthy dinners can be a huge challenge. For me, not having any cooking experience most of my life, this new challenge has turned into my passion.

We strive to eat mostly unprocessed foods. When processed, we stick with whole grains and choose ones with minimal and understandable ingredients. And whenever we can reasonably afford to, we eat organic.

So starting today, each week I’ll share a brief overview of the prior weeks’ meal plan. If I have an online recipe I will link to it. If I’ve made any changes, I’ll note them. And feel free to ask questions. It’s highly unlikely that I’ll have a recipe available for everything but if something has definitely piqued your interests, let me know and I’ll try to get one/type one up the next time I make that dish. 🙂

Bon appetite!

Monday: Shake and Bake Chicken (homemade breadcrumbs), Loaded Cauliflower Purée (topped with freshly shredded cheddar cheese and turkey bacon)
Tuesday: Bowtie Pasta (A white sauce and tomato reduction with grilled turkey sausage and broccoli in it.) — Princess Daddy created
Wednesday: Spaghetti, garlic bread and salads
Thursday: 4th of July BBQ at Nana and Papa Bear’s house – Pork Steaks, Grilled Chicken and Venison (sides of homemade coleslaw and fresh fruit salad)
Friday: Tacos (Made with ground turkey)
Saturday: Hot dogs, homemade baked macaroni and cheese and farmer’s market fresh green beans
Sunday: Crock Pot BBQ Pork Brisket, leftover coleslaw, steamed sweet carrots and baked red potatoes

Any bread products mentioned above are store bought but whole grain. Pasta is not freshly made although its something I want to try at least once. The macaroni is wheat pasta but the spaghetti was white. We stock up with coupons and sales and had a ton leftover from before changing our diets.

We use olive or coconut oil only, no vegetable or canola oil.

We are still transitioning to all nitrate free meats. The hot dogs are already all natural but the sausage and bacon are deep freezer clear outs.

Not every week will include so many extra notes. Just trying to answer any questions I predict readers having.

If nothing else, I hope I’ve inspired you to try a new dish this week. So until next time, later!

 

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: #MondayMealRecap | Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

