#TenThoughtsTuesday

Standard

Ten Thought Tuesday

In an effort to be less wordy and more random, I’ve taken the advice of some of my new favorite blogging buddies and am launching a new fun Tuesday theme… If only I remember to keep up with it.

1. Pink and Purple are giving me a run for my money with naps and sleeping in general lately. I don’t know what horrible phase this is but it needs to stop. Pronto!

2. The Walking Dead is absolutely one of my favorite TV shows and it is KILLING me that I have to wait until October for the new season to start.

3. Kind of the same feeling I have for several of my other favorite shows including but not limited to Grey’s Anatomy, The Good Wife, New Girl and 2 Broke Girls.

4. I picked up a new book from the library today, again about vaccinations. I wouldn’t say I’m “anti-vax” but I am very curious about the studies, ingredients, effects, etc. I want to know everything before moving forward with any additional shots for my girls.

5. I’m kind of in love with Morgan Spurlock.

6. I want to make a shirt (and proudly wear it) that says “Label GMO’s. Because Mom Said So!” (I did not come up with that phrase.)

7. We made homemade chocolate granola bars this weekend. They taste like fudge. Probably not the best idea for breakfast.

8. I’m one of those people who actually loves my husband so much I miss him during the workday.

9. I have less than 3 weeks left to train for the team biathlon I am doing with Princess Daddy. It’s a 5 mile run (just a couple of miles longer than the 5k I trained for in June.) I am immensely nervous about it but training is going well.

10. I am really excited about the new community of women I am connecting with through this blog. I came to WordPress just as a public outlet never really realizing what awesome people I’d meet and befriend. (And on that note, I’ve been honored with yet another blogging award so stay tuned on a post about that!)

Photo Source

8 responses »

    • The twins are 19 1/2 months. Big sis just turned 4 in June.

      Naptime all depends on your parenting model. I strongly believe in routine when it comes to sleep so they’ve had scheduled naps from day 1. The only way I can keep sane is to keep them on the same schedule. Whether its them or because of my efforts, my girls have been identical in their needs all along, both showing time for transitions to less naps at the same time, always rubbing their eyes at the same time and almost always waking up within minutes of each other.

      • That’s great that you’ve got them on such a routine!
        For the first 6 months or so with our third (now 22 months) I really just let him lead with his sleep cues because they change SO much during that time and everyone I talked to with babies the same age who were trying to follow a schedule were getting frustrated. Anyway, after that, I was able to get him on a routine and it’s needed tweaking at times (like when the second nap was dropped, etc) but mostly things have been consistent.
        Do they have beds next to each other or across the room…? Sorry to bombard you with twin questions, it’s just so interesting to me! 😉

      • My oldest was 10 months before we tried to get her on a routine. I said I would do the same with the twins, just let them be, you know? But with two, all previous plans went out the window. Lol.

        They share a room but have separate cribs. Their beds are adjacent one another. The frequently stand at the edge of their beds gabbing together. It’s adorable to listen to if only I had any idea what they were talking about.

  1. Awwwww that’s so cute that you love your hubby so much. I love that! All I will say about the vax thing is be careful with the so called “studies” the anti vaxers present. I have done sooooooooo much research on it as I have a number of friends that don’t vax plus I live in an area that has a high amount of anti vaxers so it was something that was very much brought to my attention. I can honestly say with all the research I have done that there has never been an anti vax study that i have seen that couldn’t be clearly rebutted or disputed by science. Normally the studies are flawed and full of what would be considered to be poor science. They seem compelling when you first read them and I will admit they made me nervous but I do believe in science and I don’t believe that every single scientist that has ever studied vaccinations is corrupt. Which essentially is what you have to believe if you are saying the science is bogus. Do some vacs have side effects on some kids? Yes. As does penicillin and dairy and gluten and every little thing we put into our body. But we aren’t stopping the entire population from consuming these things. Is that number of kids less than the number of kids that would die if we let those diseases go rampant in our societies again? Yes. The risk is greater for all to not vax. But of course, do your own research and make up your own mind. I’m just suggesting that you need to substantiate any claims that anti vaxers make. Do the double research. Good luck!

    • Of course. I’m obsessed with research. I have physically seen the reactions in my children so I do tend to side more with the scientists who say the risks of side effect may just be greater than the chance of contracting one of these diseases.

      In the end though, my reasons for vaccinating (or not) aren’t going to be the same as everyone else’s. I don’t advocate for my “side” I simply do what I feel is best for my family. That’s all any of us can do.

  2. Pingback: 30 Things Topic #5: Five Things that Make Me Happiest | Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

