Recipe: Whole Grain Zucchini Muffins

Standard

Zucchini MuffinsWhen I learned I had adrenal fatigue I was caught off guard. It felt like my body was failing me. Or better yet that I was failing my body. I couldn’t believe that I had let things get so bad, especially since I really felt like I ate healthy. I counted calories and stuck to recommended portion sizes. I was losing weight and working out. Everything seemed great. Everything except for that long list of obscure symptoms I had.

Reading about the changes I needed to make was a bit cumbersome and my research was exhausting. How am I going to get EIGHT servings of vegetables in each day? Not fruits and vegetables, just vegetables. And not only that. I started reading labels and saw that enriched flour was in virtually everything followed quickly by dyes and artificial sweeteners. This journey my friends was not going to be easy.

Along the way though, I came across an awesome recipe to put zucchini in a breakfast muffin. I was sold. Vegetables for breakfast is probably the hardest part of my new diet, especially since I don’t like eggs so the suggestion of a veggie omelet leaves me wanting to hurl, the opposite of the optimism towards food that I needed. I really wish I could find the original source of this recipe again to give credit where it is due but unfortunately I have not be able to locate him/her. Just know, it is not my recipe. I do vouch for its amazingness though.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups whole-wheat flour (For more information on choosing whole grains, please reference The Whole Grains Council.)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (I recommend unsweetened.)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (I recommend extra virgin.)
  • 1/4 cup milk (I’ve used 1% so far but look forward to trying with almond milk next time we get zucchini.)
  • 1 medium sized ripe banana, mashed
  • 1/4 cup honey (I recommend raw, local honey if possible.)
  • 1 medium-large sized zucchini, grated or diced (I chop mine with the skin with a few pulses in the food processor.)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Combined wet ingredients in a separate medium mixing bowl.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry.
  5. Slowly fold in the zucchini.
  6. Use butter or cooking spray to grease muffin pan. (We use coconut oil cooking spray.) Muffin cups can also be used but mine just don’t cook the same in paper cups.
  7. Bake 15-20 minutes until tops are browned and a toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.
  9. Serve warm with honey on top.

Enjoy!

Have you tried one of my recipes? Leave me some feedback. And feel free to Pin, share or link my recipe with your friends and family.

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

9 responses »

    • I don’t think I knew that about her? I’m not sure if there are any gluten free alternatives but it would be worth researching. They are mighty delicious and healthy.

      • I may have to. I am pretty certain I have a touch of it… its not as bad as her’s, but I get the symptoms after eating gluten. I had the blood work done and it came back as borderline, but so did my mom’s. Then they did the biopsys of her intestines/liver/etc and that is when it was confirmed… I dont really want to do that unless it gets as bad as her’s.

      • I’ve heard it is really common to have gluten intolerances with ibs. I know with Lil she does a lot better with whole grains instead of white/enriched flour. That’s been our only saving grace to not have to go completely gluten free.

      • That gives me hope!!! Gluten free is so hard sometimes… but the good thing is my mom can have a little bit. Like if she has bread for lunch, she probably shouldnt have anymore gluten for about 36 hours, or so. But even then sometimes it bothers her…

  1. Pingback: Princess Mommy! Where AREEE You? | Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

