30 Things Topic #6: The Hardest Thing I Have Ever Experienced

Standard
The Honeymoon Doesn't Last Forever

The Honeymoon Doesn’t Last Forever

Over the next several months, I’ll be blogging about 30 preset topics based on this post. Check it out and take the challenge yourself. And come back often to see more blogs from me.

I have been through a lot of bad shit but all in all, I have grown and heal and overcome it all. A few things come to mind as far as the hardest experiences of my life.

The first was a car accident (hit stopped at a red light from behind by a car going 50 mph) that Princess Daddy and I were in just a month after we got married. My car was totaled. Neither of us had health insurance. We were poor newlyweds and thrown into a horrible situation that involved lawyers and courts and two years before we ever got a settlement. I was left with chronic back pain and a horrible depression. I gained more weight than I’ve ever carried (even more than I gained housing twins in my uterus). And our happy new marriage honeymoon bliss was destroyed in a way that we could never get back. I don’t often think of that day anymore.

The second is the entire circle of events from 3 months before the twins’ birth to 3 months after: bed rest, separation from Orange and Princess Daddy, preterm labor, emergency C-section, a long drawn out NICU stay, nursing problems, severe reflux, PPD, nursing issues, failure to thrive… It all seems so long ago and yet it took place just two short years ago. The pain still feels very real sometimes but the memories are fading, not as debilitating.

I guess “hard” is all about perspective. These two events consumed my entire being, affected me for months on end, and destroyed me to my core. There’s hard things like making difficult decisions, losing loved ones, and training or studying for high achievements. All of these things hold valor. I often feel like my pains are lessened when I hear the stories of what others went through. Like I said, It’s all about perspective.

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

4 responses »

  1. OMG I’m so sorry to hear you were in a car accident, how awful and just a month after your wedding! But I’m glad you’re all okay.
    I also had a lot of problems with both my pregnancies leading to c-sections and went through a terrible depression after the birth of my second baby, which lead to a lot of arguments and heated discussions with my husband. We almost separated but managed to pull through.
    The best thing about these things is that we always come out stronger 🙂

  2. oh my gosh i am so sorry to hear about these things. I hope that they are becoming distant memories and that they have made you into a strong STRONG woman who can totally kick anyone’s ass 😉

  3. Pingback: 30 Things: Learning About Princess Mommy | Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

