I’m Happy About Back to School and Don’t Feel Guilty One Bit

Standard
A Super Cool Outdoor Playground Available in Our School District

A Super Cool Outdoor Playground Available in Our School District

There seems to be this bizarre theme this year about back-to-school posts on Twitter and Facebook. Moms are actually hating on one another over this. (Granted this doesn’t actually surprise me considering the outrageous amount of things moms get twisted up about.)

I myself was very excited about the new school year. Orange has an absolutely amazing pre-K teacher. She goes to school four days a week for three hours each afternoon. It’s a great break for me but more importantly, it is good for HER.

I am in a lot of online communities of “natural” parents so the trend of moms homeschooling their kids seems to be much more common in my circles than most but let me tell you something: I do not feel the slightest bit guilty about not homeschooling my children.

They attend/will attend public school. They will have my support (and their dad’s) for homework. We will be involved in their education and work closely with their teachers to give them the best education we can.

I understand all the sides on how to school a child. I picked my side. I don’t really care to defend my side because there is no right or wrong answer here. There’s what is right for my family. And there is what’s right for your family.

So please do not criticize me for enjoying the few hours each day I get of quiet. This is time I use to work (not that it’s any of your business) as a freelance writer to make extra income for our family. Orange gets this time to be around kids her age, learning from someone who has a master’s degree in early education, someone who very much knows what she is doing way more than I.

When I post my countdown or show my glee about school, it’s not because I’m excited to “get rid of my kid.” School isn’t just a free babysitter to me. I participate in field trips. I volunteer in the classroom. I help the other kids get ready who are dropped off by bus. I get excited about packing the healthiest snack I can.

But overall, Orange loves school. I want her to be excited about education. On Friday’s when she is off school, I take the time to extend the classroom to our home. We practice writing, talk about what they learned all week and do flash cards and other learning activities. We have fun play dates, trips to the library and walks to the park.

I am highly involved in my children’s education. So stop judging me. Stop comparing me to the others. And stop doing it to my peers too.

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

3 responses »

  1. Sometimes I really wonder about all the free time some people have. Did they never learn to entertain themselves properly?

    There are pros and cons with every system and the final decision will weigh up differently in different situations. I can understand homeschoolers getting defensive to a certain extent, even if it’s not helpful to do so. Actually, I guess I can understand parents getting defensive in general, but seriously, a few deep breaths and a generous glass of red wine have prevented an awful lot of unnecessary arguments.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

