I Eat Organic and I Shop at Walmart… Not Here to Save the World

Standard

organicBefore we started changing up our diet, I had us budgeted for groceries at about $75 a week. It was pretty hardcore and we were often scraping by. Fast forward to my diagnosis of Adrenal Health Disease and things had to change.

It helped tremendously when Princess Daddy got a raise with his annual review but we had to move some money around in order to nearly double our budget for food. Eating clean has so many benefits but being cheap isn’t exactly one of them.

So once we made switches, the biggest task became finding the products we needed as cheaply as possible. For the most part we do this by shopping at Target, Trader Joe’s and ALDI. But it also means we hit our local Walmart on occasion.

There’s a lot of talk about Walmart. Many people will not shop there because of the way they treat employees or simply because they produce or import so many products overseas. I saw someone comment on a post once about the price of bananas. It was something like, “I’ll pay $0.59 a banana because I know that store isn’t using low wage immigrant workers, abusing employees with long hours or cutting corners with benefits or safety equipment.” We have found bananas as cheap as $0.19 for a POUND of bananas. We eat a good 10 bananas a week between the 5 of us so paying $1 vs $6 four times a month is a big deal on our budget.

Now let me say that we go to the farmers market every weekend. We love our locally grown produce. But there are some things we simply cannot get local (bananas being one of them.) I would love to be in a position one day to be more aware of our impact on the world by only shopping with companies that support our country, morally and monetarily but right now I am just trying to take care of my family. If this means using big box stores to save money so we can eat clean, then yes, we are going to do it.

So many people tell me they want to eat healthier but just cannot afford it. Just remember, it’s not all or nothing. You can eat organic, local food. Or you can eat organic, non local food. You can get organic frozen food even. It’s NOT all or nothing. Do the best you can. Lord knows we don’t need any extra judgment when we are trying to do the best thing for our families. And if it means your produce comes from Walmart, it’s okay.

Photo Source

About Heather Campbell

I'd like to say I'm fun and interesting, but that all depends on who you talk to. I have everything I've ever wanted. I've been married, mostly happily since 2006. Together we have a spunky redhead and giggly identical twins. I am a mom/homemaker, doula-in-training and a freelance writer. Our story is magical. Our life is chaos.

8 responses »

  1. Your right eating healthy doesnt come cheap. We grow what we can and store it for one year on our field. Potatos,onions,carrots,leaks,beetroot,parsnip,cucumber,runner beans,nectarines,cabbage strawberries. This seems to be the way we save a lot of money.

  2. I agree with you completely. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing! Reducing the amount of processed food you buy is always better even if it is not organic. It can be expensive, and you have to do what you can with what you have.

  3. I enjoyed this post. We too started changing the way we ate when I was pregnant with my daughter. At first we could only afford to do a few things organic like milk and eggs, but slowly we have found a balance between affordability and eating good food. It is unfortunate when organic can cost more, but I figure I’m feeding my body better fuel without all the additives. Thanks for the insight.

  4. Eating good for you food is not cheap, that’s true. I save by sometimes having eggs for dinner or eating smaller meat portions with more vegetables. I also make my own taco seasoning/chili seasoning, etc. There are creative ways to save and I think it’s a worthwhile thing to do. Even if it means lots of cooking and LOTS of dishes:)

    Visiting as a fellow new contributor from MHS:)

    Nicole @ HoldtheOffice.com

  5. Oh, what one does find on Wikipedia: “Chaos magic ritual involving videoconferencing.JPG”. Still more effective than most vid-confs.

  6. Pingback: Eating Organic Walmart Employee Benefits Website « Healthfood Tips

Leave a Reply

