Cloth Diaper Fleece Longies: Cheater Style

Standard
Step 1: Visit Your Favorite Store

Step 1: Visit Your Favorite Store

This post is a part of a link-up series going on during the month of October from Money Saving Mom and Simply Rebekah: Frugal Photo Friday.

For my previous contributions to Frugal Photo Friday, see The Easiest Fresh Face Recipe and Do Some Cartwheels, Save Some Money.

It’s been just over six months since I began my cloth diaper journey. I have already talked about just how much money this saves our family. I mean, we started with three kids in diapers. OUCH. Now that Orange is potty trained, having two in diapers isn’t quite that bad but still, diapers cost A LOT of money.

When we first started this quest, I was in no mood to attempt overnight cloth. I heard horror stories of leaks all the time. And it just didn’t sound fun. At all. But once we started buying disposable diapers pretty much never, buying those boxes of overnight Pampers really hurt. $25 at our local Target for enough diapers to last us 2 weeks. Have you ever suddenly found a $50 bill in your pocket? Yeah, that’s what it is like every. single. month now.

Step 2: Buy Cheap Fleece Sweatpants

Step 2: Buy Cheap Fleece Sweatpants

Anyway, on to how I cheat… We bought Kawaii Goodnight Heavy Wetters and while they do work nicely, we still dealt with leaks. We tried bamboo inserts and hemp inserts and doublers and blends and blah, blah, blah. Nothing was working. Finally, the cloth momma forums told me I needed to try fleece longies. From what I could tell, there wasn’t anything special about them. They were fleece pants. Moms make them and sell them on Etsy and other sites for $12 (and ever more!) a pair. I searched and searched and finally came across your ordinary fleece sweatpants. (We tried Circo brand ones from Target and got them while on sale for $4 a piece!)

There’s nothing cute or fancy or special about them. But here’s the important part: they actually work! Neither Pink or Purple have managed to wet their sheets since we started using them. We toss the sweatpants right into our wet bag to wash with their diapers and call it a day. The potty smell washes out just like it does from the diapers. We use our normal homemade detergent, dry them like normal and ta-da!

What ways do you “cheat” when it comes to parenting? Any hacks I need to know about? Please share!

Did you like this post? Please click the banner below to vote for me as a Top Mommy Blogger. It doesn’t take anything but clicking the link and you can vote once per day. Feel free to look around the site while you are there too 🙂

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

One response »

  1. That is a great idea! When my last was still in cloth diapers I spent a lot of time wondering if I could justify the cost of some wool longies. Those Kawaii diapers are so cute, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

