Myths About Gluten

Standard

t1larg_gluten_foods__gi_This post is Day 13 for National Blog Posting Month on Blogher.

Last week Princess Daddy and I went to an initial consultation with a local holistic nutritionist. I’ve had a lot of abnormal health concerns most of my life, most recently being adrenal fatigue. With our change to healthier eating, I’ve noticed many of my issues balancing out. After much research, I realized that diet and nutrition are connected to hundreds of diseases and thousands of symptoms. We spoke to the nutritionist for nearly an hour and connected instantly. She agrees with us on the definition of healthy and what step we should be taking next…

Gluten. With some concerns still plaguing me, the only thing left consistently is gluten. We are all really hopeful that removing gluten from our diets will be that last little piece of the puzzle to feeling great. I immediately brought the recommendation home and started reading everything I could about gluten intolerances and what gluten is and isn’t. Not surprising at all, I came across an absurd amount of opinions that are simply totally and completely wrong. Inspired by the misinformation I bring to you, five myths about gluten:

  • It’s just like the Atkins Diet. Actually, no. Not at all. Atkins is based on an elimination or significant decrease of carbohydrates. There are several types of carbs that are gluten-free but still hold healthy nutrients, potatoes for example which are high in potassium.
  • You have to make everything from scratch. I actually enjoy making my own granola, oatmeal, etc. but no, you do not actually have to make your own food. Amazon.com is a great source for gluten-free snacks and breads. Most major grocery stores even have a section dedicated to gluten-free items as well since its in such high demand. You don’t necessarily HAVE to eat processed foods though. You can easily stick with proteins, dairy, fruits and vegetables and be gluten-free and never have to buy a specialty item or bake your own loaf of bread.
  • Gluten intolerance has to be diagnosed by a doctor. Want to know how many doctors I’ve seen who’ve never mentioned my diet being the root of issues I was having? Let’s just say more than the number of fingers I have on both hands… Trust your instincts. Trust your GUT. If something isn’t feeling right with your body and you suspect gluten as the culprit, eliminate it for 30 days. If you have no changes, seek further help. Simple. You don’t have to be poked and prodded, put on medications or have frequent “second” opinions until a doctor suggests gluten. Unless you have an actual allergy to wheat or full blown celiac disease, chances are no test your doctor runs will say anything about gluten.
  • Just give up bread and pasta. Easy. Gluten is kind of everywhere. It’s pretty scary. I thought I was doing great on my first night cooking a gluten-free dinner. I was making Hawaiian Chicken with pineapple in the crockpot, served over brown rice and sugar snap peas. Sure enough though as I was adding in the last ingredient, soy sauce, the word “wheat” caught my attention. We spent a big portion of the weekend searching for new cereals and crackers and other things that we never would have suspected to have wheat in them but in fact do.
  • You’ll be missing important nutrients. Just like with any other eating lifestyle (vegan, vegetarian, specialty carb, etc.) as long as you eat full, well balanced meals of what you do eat, you’ll be getting what you need. Your vitamins and fiber will easily come from your fruits and vegetables. If you still feel compelled to do so, there are plenty of gluten-free options for multi-vitamins out there. But I assure you, you won’t be missing anything.

Is your family gluten-free or on any other type of specialty diet? Is it just one member or do you implement it for everyone?

Photo Source

5 responses »

  1. Yes, Gluten free is becoming more and more popular as so many people are having troubles with their eating habits. I am glad that going GF has helped many people, but as I haven’t had any problems with gluten, I think I will continue eating it. However, I work in a breakfast restaurant and so many people require gluten free items. I am glad that we are able to provide a large selection of breakfast choices for these people. It must be hard to find good food because, as you said, so many things have gluten in them.

  2. I am milk-free. I still have a slice of cheese here and there. My boys go along with it, but I still buy them a gallon of milk every week to drink and eat on their cereal.

    I applaud your efforts. Just make sure you still get enough carbs. Carbs and running go hand in hand. Runners are the one breed of people that are happy carb lovers!

    • I’ve never eaten a ton of carbs and it hasn’t affected me. I eat fresh fruit and drink almond milk before races.

      Either way, being gluten free isn’t about carbs, just wheat (and barley and rye.) so a ton of options for me if I need them for any reason.

  3. Pingback: Lunchtime with Gluten-free Kids | Our Magical Chaos

  4. Pingback: #NaBloPoMo is… DONE! A Recap of 30 Days | Our Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

