Homemade Foaming Face Wash

Standard

After trying this amazing foaming face wash from Pinterest, I am absolutely in love. As soon as I saw a combination of a foaming cleaner with natural products and essential oils I knew it was perfect for me. I did make some slight changes so here’s my blend:20131121-093732.jpg

  • 1 cup filtered or previously boiled (now room temp) water
  • 1/4 cup Dr. Bronner’s liquid castile soap
  • 5 teaspoons hemp oil. (I used grape seed oil in my first batch because it was the best I had at the time. Hemp oil has a comedogenic rating of 0 though compared to 2 for grape seed. I originally thought to use coconut oil because of it’s other healthy benefits but it is rated at a 4!) See this reference page for comedogenic ratings.
  • 2 tablespoons local raw honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon tea tree oil. (The original recipe called for more but I found it much too powerful.)
  • 15 drops lemon essential oil
  • 15 drops lavender essential oil (This is my own addition based on it’s soothing nature on acne.)

As for review, my super cheap and simple Target brand foaming hand soap pump does the job perfect. I will likely attempt the mason jar foaming soap pump idea the original author recommends in the future just to have the wash in a glass, no chemicals, no BPA container. We will see.

This wash is so soothing though. My face feels amazingly soft and since I love the smell of tea tree oil, it’s the perfect natural fragrance. I typically wash my face just once a day, in the morning during my shower but I find myself almost craving a nighttime wash too. And when I do, I’m lulled peacefully to sleep which is an awesome side benefit. (Which during the day ironically I’m left much calmer but not drowsy so no worries.)

Acne wise, this is doing wonders for me. I’m trying other hormone balance alternative techniques as well but having a gentle, chemical free face wash makes me feel like my face is simply glowing!

If I could somehow pull off giving this as a gift to everyone I know, I totally would this Christmas. It’s that awesome.

Here’s the ingredient list from my old face wash by the way. It boasts so many things that it’s free of and how awesome it is. I’ve been using it for years at the recommendation of my dermatologist from years back. It’s not that it’s a bad face wash by any means but now that I’ve switched and I know exactly what each and every ingredient is, I will never go back.

20131121-093744.jpg

Watch out homemade shampoo and handwash, here I come…

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Influenster Review: Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask #powerofplants | Our Magical Chaos

  2. Pingback: Influenster Review: Rimmel Eye Products from the #FrostyVoxBox | Our Magical Chaos

Leave a Reply

