Recipe: Veggie Corn Chowder (A #100DaysCookbook Review)

Standard
Cookbook On Counter All Ready to Go

Cookbook On Counter All Ready to Go

I was recently picked by Lisa Leake and her team to be a cookbook ambassador for the new book ‘100 Days of Real Food: How We Did it, What We Learned and 100 Wholesome, Easy Recipes Your Family Will Love.’ As a long time follower of the 100 Days of Real Food blog, I could not have been more excited to be selected. I received a complimentary, signed copy of the book in exchange for my participation in the program which includes writing honest reviews and sharing my opinions on selected recipes.

Last night I decided to try a new recipe. Not only have I never had a chowder, ever but I’ve also not been a soup type person much at all. (This is basically a lie. I grew up hating soups, chili and the like but on our clean eating journey I’ve embraced trying more and more of them and find that I actually like them quite a lot.) Let me first paint a picture for you of what my night looked like:

I spent the entire day cleaning, painting, organizing, etc. at our old house to get it ready for today’s rental inspection. (Pink and Purple were with Nana Bear and Orange was at school. Princess Daddy was with me as there was so much work to do he actually took vacation time off work to get it done.) After picking up the twins from my mom, I had a 30 minute drive to Orange’s school. They fell asleep almost immediately as they hadn’t napped yet. We pull into the school parking lot early so I let them sleep. I figured they would wake up on their own since the car was now parked. They didn’t. The bells rings and I have to wake them up. They were NOT happy about this. Being in Princess Daddy’s car, I didn’t have any of my carriers or strollers. Since I waited in the car I was in the back of the parent pick up line. And I had two screaming toddlers yelling, “Hold you! Hold you!” 10 minutes later, with them still screaming, I finally get to the front of the line, get Orange and walk back to the car. They screamed the entire 7 minute drive home as well. You can see how my evening was shaping up to be, right?

IMG_0052So we get home only to find THOUSANDS (I am not in the least bit exaggerating) ants covering the kitchen in our new house. Obviously we had no idea there was an ant problem. In a hurry that morning, I had left our plates on the table. Of course, it was the one morning we had pancakes. I. Completely. Freaked. Out. I didn’t even know where to start. I sent the kids upstairs to play which they seemed plenty happy to do because Orange was going to share her Barbies. I got out the vacuum and I just started sucking up all the dang buggers. I sprayed vinegar e.v.e.r.y.w.h.e.r.e. to get them cleaned up. I cleaned every single dish in the sink (by hand, did I mention the dishwasher is clogged with calcium build up?) I’m cleaning and cleaning and cleaning and all the sudden it starts storming, hard! LOUD thunder and torrential downpours of rain. The girls are terrified so I put on a movie as loudly as they could tolerate to drown out the sound of the storms. We had been home a good hour now, everyone was starving, the kitchen was clean, ants were still everywhere. Talk about a major disaster.

Enter stage left… Veggie Corn Chowder. Once I finally started cooking, I felt my body relax. The recipe is so completely and utterly simple that I can’t even think of a complaint. We opted to serve ours with sharp cheddar cheese freshly shredded on top and we dipped brown rice and flax-seed crackers in it. I also used a gluten-free flour mix to make my roux as I didn’t have any whole grain on hand. We sat down together to eat. (Princess Daddy was still at the old house working so all of this madness was just me by myself.) The girls took just one bite and their faces just glowed with smiles. The scooped spoonful after spoonful into their mouths and giggled the whole time. I could physically feel my body release tension with each bite I took. I’m not even kidding, this recipe is so wholesome, so hearty, it’s completely magical. Orange’s exact response was “Mom, this is… DELICIOUS!” Pink and Purple both gave two dancing thumbs up each. And my response? I told Princess Daddy it was horrible so I didn’t have to share the leftovers. (Don’t worry, I’m not that mean, I was only joking. He heated up a bowl once he got home and agreed with me on this chowder’s magical powers.)

Do I recommend this recipe? ABSOLUTELY! Check it out for yourself and let me know what you think when you try it. For a review on the book itself, check out what I had to say on Amazon.com.

Veggie Corn Chowder recipe

 

4 responses »

  1. Aww, haha you’re story was entertaining to read (but s sorry you had to go through it!!) I love soup but I’ve never had chowder. And I actually really, really like cream corn so I bet I’d love this! Thanks for sharing!

    • I an able to look back and laugh a little now. I swear that chowder made it all okay. I sincerely considered making it a second night in a row because it was so good but opted for another recipe in the book BBQ chicken quesadillas. They were also amazing. And tonight we are making potato soup in the crockpot. (Yet another recipe from this new cookbook!) I’m in love.

  2. We have ants problem sometimes too especially during rainy season (I don’t know why!) and it’s not the red ants that come inside our house but the black ones! I sprinkle salt along their “pathway”. I can’t remember who told me to do this but I think it works. 🙂

  3. Wow! I’m sorry you had such a rough day. I think we’ve all been there with the screaming kids in line to pick up another one kid. The chowder sounds fabulous. My feel good soup is potato. And ants in a kitchen are trouble. I had to use Avon’s Skin So Soft to cover their scent trails, so they’d leave my food alone. Good luck with everything, and thanks for the post. 😉

Leave a Reply

