A Mess of Being Sick

Standard

This past Friday I saw my doctor for the results of a massive amount of bloodwork I had done a few weeks prior. (They took nearly 30 vials of blood.) (I posted about it on Twitter.)

One of the tests was an ALCAT food sensitivity test that does a gut health profile.

My results and symptoms are consistent with patients with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue. There are no official tests to diagnose these diseases.

It is a hard pill to swallow finding out I have an autoimmune disorder.

It is even harder to think of all of the healthy changes our family had already made, that I strongly advocate for and how they simply weren’t enough. (Side note, had we not made changes, there is a good chance my conditions could be so severe right now that I’d be bed bound some days with so much joint pain and inflammation.

In addition to these results I am vitamin D, iodine and melatonin deficient (I have since started natural, food based supplements to correct these issues. I’ll retest in 3 months.)

Furthermore, my ALCAT tests show I have an extreme case of leaky gut syndrome.

Out of 200 foods tested, 63 reacted with my blood, 10 of those severely reacted and I may never be able to eat those foods again.

I can no longer eat dairy (to be specific, casein), gluten, white potato, garlic, coconut, olive [oil], pineapple, pear, grapes, certain melons, carrots, cucumber, zucchini, chicken, rice, pinto and black beans, and so much more, obviously, since that doesn’t equal 63…

ALCAT provided a very detailed rotation of what foods I can eat on what days. It leaves me with kind of some strange combinations and I’ve had to get creative for sure but it’s taken a lot of he guess work out of meal planning and after just 3 strict days I’m already noticing some subtle changes. To follow along with my daily meals and snacks, check out my Instagram where I am keeping my picture food journal.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: 5 Tips to Remove Plastics from Your Life in a Plastic Obsessed World | Our Magical Chaos

  2. I’m sorry to hear about all your food sensitivities! And the probable diagnosis. I’m unfamiliar with the specifics of fibromyalgia but my mom has it too and she hurts. 😦 Hoping you can find some relief!! XO

  3. Pingback: My Countdown to 30: Happy Birthday All Year Long! | Our Magical Chaos

  4. Pingback: #TenThoughtsTuesday … Connecting All My Medical Mysteries | Our Magical Chaos

  5. Pingback: Influenster Review: Celestial Seasonings Candy Cane Lane Decaf Green Tea from the #FrostyVoxBox | Our Magical Chaos

Leave a comment